

THE OFFICIAL GAZETTE

OF THE COLONY AND PROTECTORATE OF KENYA

Published under the Authority of His Excellency the Governor of the Colony and Protectorate of Kenya

Vol. LVIII-No. 25

NAIROBI, 31st May, 1956

Price 50 Cents

CONTENTS

GAZETTE NOTICES

Birthday Honours List, 1956 Awards of the Badge of Honour 473 474

...

GAZETTE NOTICE No. 1652

BIRTHDAY HONOURS LIST, 1956

HER MAJESTY THE QUEEN has been graciously pleased to approve the following appointments:—

Knight Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (Military)

William Robert Norris Hinde, lately Deputy Director of Operations, Kenya.

Knight Bachelor

Ronald Ormiston Sinclair, Vice-President of East African Court of Appeal.

Companion of the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George

Theodore Farnworth Anderson, Director of Medical Services. Richard Charles Catling, Commissioner of Police. Arthur Hope-Jones, Minister for Commerce and Industry.

Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire

Llewellyn Griffiths, Assistant Commissioner of Police.

Kenneth Page Hadingham, Senior Assistant Commissioner of Police.

James Mackay, Farmer, Director of K.F.A. and Unga.

Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire

Michael Wales Bearcroft, Superintendent of Police, Kenya Police Reserve Air Wing.

William McLaren Campbell, Superintendent of Prisons.

James Kenneth Craig, Provincial Medical Officer, Central Province.

Geoffrey James Ellerton, Assistant Financial Secretary.

Terence Roland Glancy, lately Executive Officer, Rift Valley Province Emergency Committee.

William Kimemia s/o Githu, Assistant Education Officer, Fort Hall District Education Board.

Dennis Hazeldene Lakin, District Officer, Embu District.

William Berkley Lambert, Temporary District Officer, Subukia.

Robert Dean Pearson, Chief Health Inspector (Retired).

Kundai Ole Sangale, Senior Chief of the Purko Section of the Masai Tribe.

British Empire Medal

Gurdit Singh Johl, Forester, Forest Department.

Mahomed Muthihiri, Chairman, Pumwani Village Committee. Hezekiah Nyaga s/o Njeroge, 1st Grade Tribal Police Constable, Embu Guard.

Frederick George Bailey Peace, Field Intelligence Officer, Nyeri Division.

Colonial Police Medal for Meritorious Service

Makau Bmuta, Inspector of Police.

Dahir Caine, Inspector of Police.

Richard Gibbon Chater, Chief Inspector of Police (Reserve). Frederick Charles Constant, Assistant Superintendent of Police. John Richard Cheatle Davis, Assistant Superintendent of Police (Reserve).

Patrick John Kenny, Superintendent of Police.

James Vincent Mulligan, Superintendent of Police.

Kiema Munyalo, Assistant Inspector.

Roland Terence Mytton Watsons, Chief Inspector (Reserve). Ivor Wynne Yorke-Davies, Chief Inspector (Reserve).

Queen's Commendation for Valuable Service in the Air Derek Charles Hellens, Chief Inspector, K.P.R. Air Wing. Colin Alexander Prichard, Chief Inspector, K.P.R. Air Wing.

Queen's Medal for Chiefs

Pius Olima, Chief, South Nyanza.

Johanna Kiptiony arap Katono, Chief, Nandi District. Richard s/o Mwangeka, Chief, Teita District.

EAST AFRICA HIGH COMMISSION

Knight Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire

Alexander McDonald Bruce Hutt, Administrator, East Africa High Commission.

Commander of the Most Excellent Order of, the British Empire Malin Sorsbie, General Manager, East African Airways Corporation (Retired).

William Urquhart, Deputy General Manager, East African Railways and Harbours Administration.

Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire

Hope Trant, Medical Research Officer, E.A. Medical Survey and Research Institute, Mwanza (Retired).

Companion of the Imperial Service Order

Richard Woolfall, Deputy Regional Director, East African Posts and Telecommunications Administration.

Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire William Rex Lancelot Addison, Assistant Secretary, East Africa High Commission.

Mohan Singh Gulab Singh, Clerk/Storekeeper, Division I, East African Railways and Harbours Administration.

British Empire Medal

George Biggs, Foreman Division I, Grade I, East African Railways and Harbours Administration, Mombasa.

Violet Alice Mayne, Telephone Operator, East African Income Tax Department, Nairobi.

Yokana Asafu Nsubuga, Special Grade Telegraphist, Uganda.

GAZETTE NOTICE No. 1653

(H.A. 10/1)

AWARDS OF THE BADGE OF HONOUR

THE Governor has been pleased to make the following awards of the Badge of Honour:—

Haroon Ahmed, Coxswain, Mombasa.

Kwiya Achuka, Chief, Turkana.

Yaikaine Lepuyapui, Chief, Maralal.

Elli Ochieng Oyoko, Headman, Trans Nzoia.

Kipsiele arap Miny, President, Court of Appeal, Kericho.

Kiplangat arap Baliach, Chief, Kericho.

Stephen Parseina Ole Kenga, Headman, Ngong.

Bernard Makanga, Chief, Embu.

Jimnah Gichu, Headman, Nyeri.

Abdul Karim Sheikh, Clerk, Mombasa.

Kipkeino arap Korir, Divisional Agricultural Officer (Kericho).

Wilfred Murai, Health Assistant, Kiambu.

Samuel Wigwa, Hospital Assistant, Nanyuki.

Joel Mbithi s/o Kathithi, Medical Assistant, Machakos.

Rugnath Markanday Sahai, Clerk, Nairobi.

Petro Makana, Veterinary Assistant, Elgon Nyanza.

Wilhelm Cornelius Bekker, Foreman, Nyeri.

Hematram Jagjiwan Domedia, Cashier, Nairobi.

John Vitinho Francis D'Souza, Section Officer (Accounts), Nairobi.

Jackson Wamai s/o Kingaru, Driver, Nyeri.

Zakayo Ochieng, Ex-Chief, Central Nyanza.

Khairalla Madoro, Vice-President, African Court, South Nyanza. Kibuchi s/o Njogu, East African Railways and Harbours, Nairobi.

Wanjara s/o Mureki, East African Railways and Harbours, Nairobi.

Justo Odando, East African Railways and Harbours, Kisumu. Bernard Mamau s/o Mwika, East African Railways and Harbours, Kibera.

Oluma s/o Okelo, East African Railways and Harbours, Nairobi.

Jonathan s/o David, East African Posts and Telecommunications, Nakuru.

Poro wa Kamau, East African Posts and Telecommunications,

Kutati s/o Samiro, East African Railways and Harbours, Kisumu.

Nairobi, 31st May, 1956. R. G. TURNBULL, Chief Secretary.